Paul’s Best Advice

Phillipians 3:13 – No, dear brothers and sisters, I am still not all I should be, but I am focusing all my energies on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead.

We are molded by the things that have happened to us in the past.  We all have some baggage that we carry around in our lives. This verse is Paul’s best advice.  Forget that past and focus on what lies ahead!  In this one small verse Paul gives us such wisdom from heaven.

First he says I’m not all I should be.  Paul’s not all he should be?  The man who ends up writing 2/3 of the New Testament?  The Apostle who established the majority of the Christian churches in the first century?  That guy?  He’s not all he should be?  Then what hope is there for the rest of us?  That is the point he’s making.  None of us can ever be good enough.  We never achieve the mark, the standard that Jesus set.  So what can we do then?

Focus all our effort on ONE THING…forgetting the past and looking forward.  After we are slapped in the face with the cold reality that we’re not all we should be as followers of Jesus, Paul says now focus all your effort, all your energies on forgetting past mistakes, past wounds, people that have hurt you and look forward to what God is about to do through you and for you.

Being a Christian means to change.  We can’t be the same in 2009 as we are in 2008.  Otherwise we must admit that we’ve focused our effort, our energy, even our prayers on the wrong things.

How do we know what God has for us ahead?  Ask Him.

Jeremiah 33:3 – Ask me and I will tell you some remarkable secrets about what is going to happen here.

When you start to hear God for yourself, faith is released.  Don’t be afraid to ask God to reveal his destiny for you.  He wants to! 

Romans 10:17 – So then faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the word of God. (nkj)
So then faith comes by listening to message of good news. (nlt)

Do you want to have fresh faith for the future?  Then listen to the word of God and what He is saying about your life.

As you look at your year so far, what have you spent most of your time, most of your thoughts and your best energy on, things you can’t change or things you can?

6 thoughts on “Paul’s Best Advice

  1. Tracy Milanese says:

    This is one of the key understandings that helped to change my life. I still often quote Joyce Meyer when she says, “I’m not where I should be, but thank God I’m not where I used to be. I’m ok, and I’m on my way.”

    Like

  2. Nancy Groff says:

    There are two points you made that I really liked.
    One, to focus our energy on forgetting the past. I think too often as humans we spend our energy on remembering the past, being condemned by our past, or reminding others of their past. Well, at least that is how it’s been in my “past”.
    Two, that you are already thinking ahead to 2009. It was a subtle reference, about not being the same in 2009 as we were in 2008. The end of 2008 is coming. This is a good time to prepare for the next year. Why wait until 12/31 to start thinking about the next year.

    Like

  3. Barb says:

    Thank You again for reminding me to move ahead…sometimes I move to far ahead.. I love the series we are doing at church Balance…God is all over that!! There is even balance in your blog message..Learning from the past and moving forward…Be blessed no matter what time it is…LOL

    Like

  4. Carrie Zusy says:

    Phillipians 3:13 is one of my favorite verses in the bible for the very same reasons you mentioned above. I mean, who doesn’t have things from their past that they regret? But to focus on the past means you are not moving forward…

    Jer 29:11 “For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope. So when I’m tempted to think about those past regrets I focus on all that God has already done in my life and all that he has promised to do in my future. And I pray that I’m not the same tomorrow as I am today.

    Pastor Lon, I love it when I’m reminded of how God is speaking to me and others at the same time with the same message. Just this morning I read Phil 3:13 and was reflecting on it. And then I read it again in your blog. Thank you for all your encouragement! However, I would like to see that you are getting your rest and not up at 3am blogging…. 😉 Have a great and blessed day!

    Like

  5. pastorlon says:

    Actually, I blogged this at 10:30pm. I don’t know why it said 3am. Maybe it got caught in a que.

    It is awesome when God speaks the same things to all of us. We are all listening to the same Lord who is speaking to His kids. Another cool thing here is your response included Jer 29:11 which is my favorite verse.
    Thanks for the feedback. God bless

    Like

Please Leave a Comment

