Pray for President Barack Obama

Scripture is very clear about our mandate to pray for those place in authority over us.

I urge you, first of all, to pray for all people. Ask God to help them; intercede on their behalf, and give thanks for them. Pray this way for kings and all who are in authority so that we can live peaceful and quiet lives marked by godliness and dignity. 1 Timothy 2:1-2

Therefore, whether we voted for President Obama or against him, we now must pray for him AND respect him.

For the Lord’s sake, respect all human authority—whether the king as head of state, or the officials he has appointed. 1 Peter 2:13-14a

One of the saddest thing about our country is the lack of respect for those in authority.  I know we have freedom of speech and we’re allowed to disagree with and even poke fun at our leaders but there is a growing attitude of disrespect towards our presidents.  I saw this as a large issue when President Clinton had a sex scandal while in office and it has continued with President Bush largely because of broken promises to find Weapons of Mass Destruction and Bin Laden.

People used excuses like “Clinton dishonored the oval office” and “Bush lied”.  People have told me “Respect must be earned.” but that isn’t what we just read in 1 Peter.  We are commanded to respect the office even if we don’t respect the person in that office.

Give to everyone what you owe them: Pay your taxes and government fees to those who collect them, and give respect and honor to those who are in authority. Romans 13:7

My taxes go to pay for abortions and other things I don’t believe but that doesn’t mean I’m allowed to with hold my taxes.  Presidents and legislators have done things and stood for things I totally disagree with but I honor them as placed by God.

Everyone must submit to governing authorities. For all authority comes from God, and those in positions of authority have been placed there by God. So anyone who rebels against authority is rebelling against what God has instituted, and they will be punished. Romans 13:1-2

I remember when President Clinton was elected it caused a rise in the prayer level of the church across the country because of his stance on moral issue like abortion and gay marriage.  I believe God will again cause His church to rise and pray for this nation after this controversial election and because of this trying time we live in both economically and with the war.

Pray, pray for our president because it’s commanded and it because it works. Respect, respect because it’s commanded and because it honors God.

5 thoughts on “Pray for President Barack Obama

  1. Tony Barbaro says:

    I will admit to having a huge attitude after this election….so many thing s that I believe in and hold as important go directly opposite from Obama.I will pray for him(even if it is through gritted teeth)…I’ll also pray that my attitude lines up w/ my spirit.The next 4 yrs should be interesting.I’m trying NOT to panic and lean on the fact that God is still in charge.
    T

    Like

  2. John says:

    I have a serious question. In “Letters to Malcolm”, C.S. Lewis argues that Jesus’ certainty about His crucifixion (demonstrated previously) must have been taken away from Him temporarily in the Garden of Gethsemene, as it’s psychological impossible for pray for what you know isn’t going to happen. Of course, Jesus prayed properly, within the Father’s will, but to me it seems reasonable that you must believe intellectually that what you ask for is possible (the precedent for which He would have been hoping, of course, was that of Abraham and Isaac; that the willingness was sufficient). It would absurd and intellectually dishonest to pray for the ability to draw a square circle.
    I agree in principle that we should pray for other people, including the president. Certainly it’s as proper to pray for his soul and his salvation as it is for any other person (without presuming that lack, of course). Certainly it’s proper to pray that anyone make as wise decisions as they’re capable of making. But I suppose my question is twofold:
    (1) My understanding is that in America, the people are sovereign. I don’t know that I’d place praying for the president in the same category as praying for the leaders that Peter et al, humanly speaking, were subject to. Where is the demarcation here? Taken to its logical conclusion, it would seem to contradict the principle of civil disobedience, the principle that some evils, even if legally instituted, are worth standing up to (the principle that there are higher loyalties that transcend the leader’s or even the law’s will). Maybe that is the Biblical position; I don’t know. My observation (I don’t know that it’s a solution) is that in America, the people are sovereign and the Constitution is the law of the land, not the decree of Caesar. For example, to indulge in jury nullification (a legal right) is to defy the authority of the judge (for judges invariably frown upon it). I believe that in this country the people have a sovereign stake in its governance irrespective of their elected representatives; even the president serves at our pleasure, and that if we the people are sovereign, then we have civic duties that subjects of Caesar didn’t – the duty to contradict those to whom we’ve delegated power. And what of those who defy corrupt foreign authorities? I don’t believe the Christians were sinning in not submitting happily to the lions with a smile, even in Peter’s time (though I am glad that Quo Vadis is finally coming out on DVD this month). I’m not suggesting that our new president is that bad, though I believe that he is a deeply flawed individual, and as such I’d like to know your opinion as to how far this principle of respect and obedience goes. To me it seems that there are times when we obviously must submit to authority despite our wishes and times when we obviously shouldn’t, and I’d like to know more about your opinion on the gray area. For instance, did the Founding Fathers sin in defying the king? Their position would have been, I think, that the king broke English common law first. On the other hand, it’s always easy to justify your defiance by claiming that someone else started it. No one really believes they’re evil, but rather that what they do is justified by what others have done.
    (2) What exactly should prayers regarding the president entail? Given the Gethsemene thing, can I reasonably pray that our new president will do the exact opposite of everything he has promised to do, that he will wake up one morning and be the mirror image of what he’s hitherto been and believed? Many of his proposals seem simply foolish and misguided; others strike me as positive evils. Should I pray that his will changes, or that he doesn’t get his will, or that I’m wrong and he’s right? On the theoretical level where “all things are possible” I can pray for a miracle regarding him, nor of course do I know with certitude that I’m right and he’s wrong (except of course where his views contradict the Bible; I’m sorry to be so vague, but details strike me as out of place here). But I believe that God gives us wisdom for a reason, and to pray that he’s right and I’m wrong strikes me as intellectually dishonest. I can pray for his soul. I can pray for God to bless his endeavors, but I’m not sure I know what that means, nor that I would truly welcome the results, which would again be intellectually dishonest. I can pray for everything to work out in spite of what I believe to be the logical consequences of his intentions, but I don’t think that’s what you have in mind.
    I know that details are out of place, but this is a sincerely spiritually trying issue for me. Maybe I’m overthinking the whole thing, or maybe others have the same dilemma. I apologize in advance if anything I’ve written is out of place here; please feel free to remove it. Thanks for any help you can offer,
    John

    Like

  3. pastorlon says:

    Thanks for the feedback from both of you. God is Sovereign and has His plan. We must do our parts and that is what brings His plan into it’s fullness.

    Like

  4. Carrie Zusy says:

    Thank you for this reminder. It IS important that we pray for our leaders whether we voted for them or not. And, might I add, not just the leaders of this Country…We should also be praying for the leaders in our church, on our jobs, and in our schools.

    Thanks again Pastor Lon for this reminder! (I needed to hear this) 😉

    Like

  5. Barb says:

    Pastor Lon again and again you have spoken with such wisdom.. 1 Tim 2:2..needs to become a life style for us.. it go’s on to say as u know that this is pleasing unto God.. and who does not want to please..This is again a shifting in the heavens a kinda waking up or call again for the church to rise up in these (very important) latter days..It would be good to read Revelations again..Thank You again..

    Like

Please Leave a Comment

