Performance or Providence

It was an awesome weekend. The prophetic gathering was powerful Saturday morning and the new member’s lunch following was a fun bonding time. Then Saturday night just spending time worshipping God and praying capped the day off. Followed by 260+ people hearing Tino Wallenda preach from atop a high wire.  There was press coverage from two newspapers and a TV station but most important was there were also many 1st time salvations…God is so awesome.

This is the type of service that causes religious Christians to complain or gossip.  “It’s all a show.  He’s just trying to have a performance.”  “They have a performance church.”  I shouldn’t have to defend a service style that brings in dozens of first time guests and leads to several true first time salvations but I have to admit some of those comments had started to get to me.  I felt the need to justify my decisions when people are saying they won’t come to church if there’s a circus performer.  I get a little hurt that people don’t trust my judgment yet.  But it all was forgotten with one conversation.

I met a young lady who came with a girl who herself has only been saved for 3 months.  She said “I came to support my friend in her decision to stay sober and clean but really I’m an atheist.”  I gave her the book The Case for Christ by lee Strobel and explained to her that it was written by a former skeptic and told her that God wasn’t upset by her doubts or questions.  She smiled as she accepted the book and said, “I was moved by what I saw here today.  I felt something…something here in this place.” This began an exciting 15 minute conversation about the search for the reality of God, a conversation that ended with her promise to see me next week.

“This is why you’re here.” I thought as I walked away.  One conversation with a genuinely unchurched person who took a giant leap towards faith erased all the complaints and second guessing.  A performance?  No.  Divine Providence lead me to invite Tino Wallenda to preach today and the results (changed lives) will speak for themselves.

5 thoughts on “Performance or Providence

  1. pastorlon says:

    Carrie, what a great post. Excellent analogy with the Israelites and thank you personally for your encouraging words. God IS doing great things at the House of Praise and I am grateful!

    Like

  2. Carrie Zusy says:

    It reminds me of Moses leading the Isrealites thru the wilderness. They were quick to blame Moses (and God) because they hadn’t reached the land of milk and honey, they had to eat manna & quail everyday, etc…. (imagine thinking that you had it better being a slave?!?!) Because of their complaining they never made it to the promise land. How sad that is….

    It IS upsetting to know that there are people out there who still don’t trust your judgement, Pastor Lon. All I have to say to that is just look at what the Lord is doing in House of Praise! WOW! Each week there are new people coming in those doors. People EVERY week being saved, healed, set free! And I feel sorry for anyone attends the worship service and sunday message without feeling the presence of God! I’m excited every sunday to see what God is going to do next…. Keep it up Pastor Lon, I’m behind you 100% (as well as everyone I talk to)

    And I know God isn’t done yet and there is more (and even greater things) that He is going to do in the House of Praise! I for one, don’t want to be stuck in the wilderness any longer than I have to! I want to be one of the ones who makes it to the promise land!!!

    Like

  3. pastorlon says:

    Tony you’re hysterical. I’m nervous and sweaty anytime in church. You are right Tino was a true Christian brother and really illustrated the fruit of the Spirit.

    Like

  4. Tony Barbaro says:

    One thing that struck Deb and I was how kind the guy was.After everything was over he spent a good 1/2 hour w/ kids(and some daring adults)helping them on the “low wire”..he didn’t have to do that.for someone at his level of succuss to come to a smaller church(as oppossed to Lakewood)and perform and give a straight up salvation message,shows that he’s REAL….It was great.(although I was nervous and sweaty the whole time.)
    T

    Like

Please Leave a Comment

