Eternal Things

Today is the funeral for my close friend and armor bearer Joe Savio.  A mighty man of God taken prematurely at age 52.  Joe was one of the most giving people I’ve ever known.  He would dress up like a clown and go to nursing homes or on the street to tell people about Jesus.  Any time there was anything that needed doing at the church he was there.  He told everone he knew about their need for salvation.

Joe always had a word of encouragement for me as his pastor.  Almost every week he would remind me that he was praying for me and the he and his family were with us and 100% behind the vision of the church.

You may be reading this today and have never met Joe.  You’re probably wondering why I would write this in a blog or what it means to you…here’s why his life is so important.

You do not know what will happen tomorrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapor that appears for a little time and then vanishes away.  James 4:14 

Joe’s passing has woken me up in a way.  We all get caught up in the day-to-day details of life.  Joe’s reminded me that life is short and the time to fulfill or destiny on this planet even shorter.  Thank God Joe was a great Christian man and has now heard “Well done, good and faithful servant.  Enter into your reward.” but there are thousands of people outside our doors headed for hell.

I have made a vow today to refocus myself on the things God has called me to do.  A vow to not get caught up in the mundane details of life and ministry.  A vow to focus on the Great Commission of making disciples.

Will you join me?  Will you sharpen your focus to see eternal things more clearly?  I think Joe would like that.

Please Leave a Comment

