Does Religion Leave You Feeling Lost?

Religion leaves you feeling lost but relationship connects you to God. Religion is man’s attempt to reach God or to earn His favor.  Real relationship with the Lord may begin with a hunger for God but even that hunger comes from Him because no one comes to repentance unless the Spirit draws them. 

Religion knows about God but through Relationship we can KNOW God.

Before I was born-again, I went to church almost weekly as a child.  I could tell you Jesus died for me, I could even quote some scripture but never knew the savior personally.  I was religious, I trusted in my church, my confirmation, even the cross on my neck but had never even met the Savior!

Religion is a list of Dos and Don’ts but relationship causes you to alter your behavior because of love.

Matthew 22:35-40 – One of them, an expert in religious law, tried to trap him with this question: “Teacher, which is the most important commandment in the law of Moses?”

Jesus replied, “‘You must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, and all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment.  A second is equally important: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ The entire law and all the demands of the prophets are based on these two commandments.”

Love causes us to fulfill the laws of the one we love.  In the absence of love the law is needed. 

One thought on “Does Religion Leave You Feeling Lost?

  1. Nimbolina says:

    The answer to your title questions is YES! For some reason, Galations 5:22 came to my mind. I have been teaching my Sunday school students the fruit of the Holy Spirit (kinda diverted a bit from the ‘approved’ curriculum) and the end part of that verse about how “against such things there is no law” is sticking with me. It all starts with Love and from there it blooms to amazing things…what need is there for law or rules or religion when the fruit of the Holy Spirit is working in and through us! It is just really refreshing to realize.

    Like

Please Leave a Comment

