30 Days to Live e-Devotional – Day 11: Love Requires Forgiveness

When people face their last 30 Days to Live, they often turn to forgive those that have hurt them or ask forgiveness from those they have harmed. Why do we wait?  Jesus was very clear that regarding our need to forgive others.

If you forgive those who sin against you, your heavenly Father will forgive you. But if you refuse to forgive others, your Father will not forgive your sins. – Matthew 6:14-15

This may seem qute harsh but when we understand how the Kingdom of God works, it makes complete sense.  The Lord has told us He alone is the judge. When we refuse to forgive someone, we make ourselves that person’s judge.  In effect we are saying that we want God’s job.  He never has tolerated that, just ask an angel named Lucifer.  If we want God to forgive us, we must forgive others, otherwise we must rely on our own righteousness for forgiveness.  As we know, that won’t work.

When someone has 30 Days to Live there are two motivating factors to fogive. First, the need to be right with God before facing Him.  As the verses we just read in Matthew teach us, we have to forgive to be ready to face the Father.  Second, as people prepare to leave loved ones they realize that life is too short to not forgive.  Suddenly they remember that love is the highest goal of humanity.

Let love e your highest goal. – 1 Corinthians 14:1

The ability to forgive is the ability to love.  If we are making love our highest goal, forgiveness is required.

Make allowance for each other’s faults, and forgive anyone who offends you. Remember, the Lord forgave you, so you must forgive others. Above all, clothe yourselves with love, which binds us all together in perfect harmony.  – Colossians 3:13-14

Pauil is telling the Colossian church, that clothing ourselves in love is the highest goal.  He tells us how to do this, overlook people’s faults and forgive them when they hurt you.  I have to laugh when Christians say, “I’m not offended, just hurt.”  Is there a difference?

Love does not demand its own way. It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged. – 1 Corinthians 13:5

When I’m counsling someone and I ask them if they have any unforgiveness towards people they will say no.  When I ask them who has hurt you?  Well, then I get a list.  We must be honest with ourselves if we want to be right with God.  if you have been keeping a record of of how they have hurt you then you are not walking in love.  If you have been hurt by someone, choose to forgive them today.

The person who is devoid of the power to forgive
is devoid of the power to love. – Martin Luther King Jr.

We can’t truly love without forgiving.  If we don’t love then, we don’t know God.

Prayer

Dear Jesus, you see the people that have hurt me.  I choose today to forgive them and ask you to supernaturally give me the ability to completely forgive them.  I ask you to forigve me for having offenses and unforgiveness.  Cleanse me in your precious blood and forgive my sins as I forgive those who have sinned against me.  In your name I pray, amen.

Thoughts for Today

  • Who has hurt me?  Does it still hurt to think about it now?  If so, have I really forgiven them?
  • Is there anyone I need to ask to forgive me?

Action List

  • Ask a person you know you’ve hurt to forgive you.
  • Forgive one person this week that you never thought you could forgive.
Please Leave a Comment

