30 Days to Live e-Devotional – Day 12: Don’t Fear the Reaper

280,000 people die worldwide every day.  We’re all going to die.  Then why is it such a fearfully thing?  Why do we picture Death as a ‘Grim Reaper’ harvesting us with a sickle?  I believe it’s fear of where death is bringing us.

I have been at the death beds of people who were unsure of where they were going and they were terrified.  Yet, I have been at the side of followers of Christ who as they breathed their last breath welcomed death as one welcomes an old friend.  What’s the difference between the two?  Their outlook on death.

As we began the second week of this thirty-day journey called 30 Days to Live, Live Like Your Dying, someone asked me why I would pick such a depressing subject for a teaching series.  My reply to all of you who may be wondering that is this…it’s only a depressing sbject if we fear death.  If we understand that we all die and that life itself is ony a blink of an eye compared to eternity, then isn’t depressing but a part of a Christian life.  Discussing “living like we’re dying” becomes a much need challenge.

Jesus told us not to be troubled when we think about dying.

Don’t let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God, and trust also in me. There is more than enough room in my Father’s home. If this were not so, would I have told you that I am going to prepare a place for you? When everything is ready, I will come and get you, so that you will always be with me where I am. – John 14:1-3

As we face forever we can be sure that we going to our Father’s house.  That death is a doorway to blessing for those that have God as their father.  Fear comes when we’re not sure of our salvation, when we trust in our own good works to achieve heaven.  How many good deeds does it take to make someone good enough for heaven?

God’s promise of entering His rest still stands, so we ought to tremble with fear that some of you might fail to experience it. For this good news—that God has prepared this rest—has been announced to us just as it was to them. But it did them no good because they didn’t share the faith of those who listened to God. For ONLY we who believe can enter His rest. – Hebrews 4:1-3

If we are to fear the this reaper called death that comes to harvest the human bodies and release the immortal souls to eternity, we should fear for those that don’t beling to Christ.

Some fear not dying itself but what death will be taking from them. I will never see my loved ones again.  I will lose all that I’ve gained in this life.  We must understand that death is NOT the end of everything but a door to another time and place.  If we believe God’s promises we may spend eternity enjoying God’s blessings with our loved ones. (As long as they are part of Christ’s family also.)

How can we be sure Jesus will keep His promise?  How can we know He wasn’t just crazy?  The answer lies in a dusty tomb carved in a hillside made of rock.  If the tomb is empty then His promise is not.  If He rose from the dead, then we will too!  We will rise into a resting place He has created just for us, a room in a mansion beyond imagination…a room in our loving father’s house.

Prayer

Dear Jesus, help me to not fear death.  Give me a proper understanding of death as a doorway to eternity.  Give me assurance of my salvation and of your forgiveness that I may never fear the sting of death.  Lead me to share the way of salvation with those I care about who don’t know you, that we may spend eternity together. Amen.

Thoughts for Today

  • Do you fear death? If so why?  Aren’t you sure of heaven?
  • What would you say to someone if you knew you had 30 days to live?

Action List

  • Give the fear of death to the Lord today.
  • If you’re NOT sure that you would go to heaven, ask Jesus to forgive you and save you right now.  Give Him your life and surrender control to Him as your Lord.
  • if you ARE sure that you would go to heaven, share the hope of heaven with someone today.  They may not go to heaven if you don’t tell them how.

Bonus

Seasons don’t fear the Reaper,
nor do the wind and the summer rain.
We can be like they are.
Come on baby don’t fear the Reaper.

lyrics by Blue Oyster Cult
(not a band i would recommend) (;>)

3 thoughts on “30 Days to Live e-Devotional – Day 12: Don’t Fear the Reaper

  1. matt hulett says:

    We watched the ultimate gift last nite and the thing that stood out the most was the little girl dying from leukeima. There where a lot of lessons in the movie ,but her dying made me think of all the families who deal with death everyday. We tend to forget about it until someone we know dies, but soon after it vanishes from our memory again. We like to take walks through the cemetary and read the grave markers, plus its so quiet and peaceful there, whenever we do this I always feel like life is so precious and short,I’m just motivated to live it better. I think if more people visited the cemetary they would see life in a whole new perspective. I’ve praying and asking God to give me a heart for those that are lost and hurting, those that are sick and needy and he is really hitting me hard with this. Everywhere I look there are people hurting and it begins to weigh on my mind everyday. God bless Pastor Lon!!

    Like

  2. matt hulett says:

    Death is definately a subject most people don’t want talk to about. Up until my dad died I did’nt want to talk about it either, since then its a subject that I am willing to discuss with anyone willing to talk about it. W

    Like

Please Leave a Comment

