Gratitude for Salvation Letter

Hello Everyone,

Two weeks ago as we began the Go Fish! series  I asked you all to do something important.  We called it “homework”.  I asked that each of us write a letter to the person who helped us Connect to God or “hooked us”.  Perhaps you met the Lord as a kid and the reconnected later, write to the person who helped you reconnect.

This is an important exercise.  I believe that as we write these letters, God will help us answer the question, why we should share our faith.  This homework will also help us focus our attention on the eternal things God has done in our life.

Don’t know what to say?  Here’s a few tips for guidelines but remember, it’s about what you want to say, not some formula.

  • Begin with gratitude, something like “I am writing to say thank you for helping me connect to Christ as my Savior.”
  • Recount something God has done in your life: “God delivered me from fear or addiction” or “I now know God loves me.”
  • Remember the benefits of sserving God: “I know have a wonderful family.”   “I’m blessed with a great church.”
  • Encourage them: “If you had never shared Jesus with me, I would have a very different life.”

Remember, write the letter like you’re going to send it, but you don’t have to.  it might not be appropriate to send and for some of us, the person who influenced you to Christ might not still be alive.  It’s an exercise for you.  If you choose to send the letter to encourage the person you’re writing to, that’s a sweet bonus.

I hope you will write your letter by this Sunday.  I shared part of mine last week.  Think about sharing parts of the letter in Connect Groups to encourage eachother.

I wouldn’t be here leading this wonderful church if a girl named Annie hadn’t shared Jesus with me.

See you all Sunday.

Love,

Pastor Lon

 

Please Leave a Comment

